1 Step away from High Def Conversion

D

Drax

I have one roadblock keeping me from completing a high def pack conversion for HL:S, I need the .mdl's from HL:S so I can copy the coresponding animation names into my high-def .qc files.

I take it the .mdl files are integrated into the .dll's in HL:S? I can't find any type of .mdl file. Is there away to extract them? Will the upcoming SDK have this info?

Any info would be appreciated. This is my first attempt to mod anything outside of NWN's so I don't know for sure if I'm truely stuck or not. If I can get HL:S .mdl files decompiled I can recompile the high-def pack models which are converted and ready to go in all other aspects for HL:S.

I am hoping someone can provide me the same answer, and tell me where they are stored. I have an unofficial high def pack for steam, that works great with that version, but I cannot figure out where to put the mdl files for the source version.

the models are all integrated into the .gcf files for HL2 and such, guessing HL:S has it's own .gfc file, this can be viewed and files extracted from (bit like a .pak file), but not sure how to add or replace files in it, might be a program out somewhere for it.

pakscape is what i use to view the .gcf files though.

oh and they are no longer .mdl files, they are like .vtx any such, need something like Softimage XSi (free download with HL2 or from www.softimage.com) to view them

Thanks jheaddon, and since this is way beyond my meager abilities, keep us posted on your progress Drax. I would be very interested in seeing your models in action.

[edit]

Ah sorry for the double post but the edit button's gone on the above post, I thought I had hit another stop but I didn't. The .mdl files in the gcf file (yes there's vtx files as well) contain the names of the animation calls I need. Cool. Lets see how far I can get now.

hey man, its me. glad to see that everything is working for you. best of luck, wish i could help you though ;(