3d max cut tool

MrMan

Reaction score
Sometimes in max i try to cut across a square of rectangular face, and instead of it cutting from the middle of one side to the middle of the other the cut jumps into the corner on the other side, giving me a diagonal cut, which i don't want...how do i stop it doing this?

Hmm, im still kinda new to this. At the top 'snaps toggle' is deactivated. If i click on it (turns yellow) then bring up the properties it says that grid snap is on. I've tried cutting with that on and off, doesn't work still.

have you turned it into a Poly yet? Right-click, convert, edit poly.

Othervise, just use Slice

Yeah it was a poly, turned out the problem was only occuring when i tried to cut in perspective view, once i went into user view it worked fine :| Hmm

I have one more question (sorry, total noob lol). I have 2 images set up as background images, as i am modelling a human figure, one is a side profile and one is a front profile. I have been working from the left hand side profile, and my model matches the image, but in the front profile the background image is a lot bigger than the model. The 2 images i am working from are the same size though.

edit: I unlocked the offending viewport background and zoomed in until it matched the size of my model...then i went to lock it again, but the background image jumps. How do i get it to align correctly?