512 mb or ram not enough :(

Rafa 5.0

Spy
Reaction score
I started playing HL2, it's freaking AWESOME!!!, but the game is sluggish and it stutters every 10 sec., so I'm thinking that the problem is gonna be my ram, i only have 512mb, I'm running the game with everything on high, no AA or AF(for now)
My question is, those people running the game with 512mb, are you experiencing something similar?, if so, what do you have the game set at and what kind of system do you have?
one more thing, what's the command to see your FPS?

if this helps, my system:

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2Ghz
512 MB DDR RAM (will upgrade in about a week, buying 1 more gig of ram)
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB
250 Watt power supply (i want to buy a 300 watt soon)

That is almost exactly my system (128MB vid card RAM instead of 256), and I've been having the same problem. My FPS is high and fairly stable , except when it stutters every few minutes. It isn't quite every 10 seconds, but it was at the beginning of the game.

i have the same kind of system, only i have 128mb on my radeon. i have almost everything on high except a few on medium. i only have 2x AA and it runs smooth, only sometimes at the beginning of a level it stops for a sec or when i blow up alot of stuff

yup its your ram, that stuttering is hd trashing (its using your swap ram on the hd)

Before starting the game, make sure you have absolutely nothing else running except for XP and HL2. Try to terminate as many processes as possible (without crashing your comp of course).

Also: download and run this program just before you play HL2 to free up as much RAM as possible http://www.cyberlat.com/ramcleaner/

Hope that helps.

Rafa 5.0 said:
I started playing HL2, it's freaking AWESOME!!!, but the game is sluggish and it stutters every 10 sec., so I'm thinking that the problem is gonna be my ram, i only have 512mb, I'm running the game with everything on high, no AA or AF(for now)