Ahh the memories

AJ Rimmer

Tank
Reaction score
I don't think I've seen one of these threads before, I searched but came up with zip so here goes;
What's your first memory of hearing of Half-life 2?
Here's mine:
I had only played through Blueshift a few months earlier, I started playing Half-life in 2002, and through some mystery I managed to remain in the dark as to HL2 when the first rumours on the internet showed up, and later on all the way until I received the June ex of Swedish PCGamer and saw Gordon Freeman's face smeared onto the front page. I was extatic, and read through the article again and again.
Here's the first screenshot I ever saw of Half-life 2, and the caption:
http://members.home.nl/roelvdeerden/Half-Life 2 Media Page/Screenshots/Ant Lions 01.jpg
"This is Half-life 2
This is the in-game engine
Hurray!"

Come on, post away!

I was totally blindsided. I was at work one day and someone said hey.. have you seen the E3 footage for HL2..

After I seen it I started seeking out info.

Someone punched me in the face but he had a screenshot taped to his fist and I saw it right before it hit me in the eye. That is when I knew I had to find out more.

I think it was 2002, and i was roaming the net... i typed hl1 mods in google (was very bored).. and i came across the rumours that hl2 was coming...

I shit my pants...

And thus the anticipation was born.

Well....months (maybe even a year) before HL2 was announced, I was reading "The Spy" article in PC Gamer (UK) and a HL2 rumour was mentioned. The Spy didn't really take it seriously, but the rumour was that HL2 would be set in Europe, and you would once again play as Gordon but this time with a female side kick...and would travel around solving "X-files like cases". Interesting....