Almost time for me to update - need advice, please :)

Murray

Tank
Reaction score
Ok, here goes. I'm soon gonna build myself my own computer and I want it to be a good computer for new games (and probably some old ones as well) so I can play Half-Life 2, Doom3, etc on really good detail.
I don't really know if I'm a newbie on this or not, so I'll start off by showing the speccs. I'm gonna buy my computer from datorbutiken.com, so if you who would like to help me are swedish, things migt be a little easier for you. :)

Every item is linked to it's info on datorbutiken.com when you click them.
Anyway, here they are:

Case:
Antec LANBOY-EC Aluminium 350W True Power ATX + cooling

Motherboard:
Asus K8N-E Deluxe nForce3 250Gb 3DDR-DIMM 5PCI SATA Raid Audio GB-LAN Socket754 ATX

Processor:
AMD Athlon64 Newcastle 3200+ AX 2200MHz/2.2GHz 512kb Socket754 + Zalman cpu-cooler

RAM:
Kingston KVR400X64C3A/512 2x512Mb (tot. 1024Mb/1Gb) Dual DDR PC3200 400MHz 184pin Unbuffered CL3

Harddrive:
Western Digital Caviar WD1600JB-00FUA0 160Gb 7200rpm 8Mb Fluid UDMA100 IDE

Serial ATA (SATA) Harddrive:
Western Digital Raptor WD360GD 36Gb 10000rpm 8Mb cache S-ATA

Graphics card:
Asus Radeon AX800Pro 256Mb DDR3 TV-out DVI RETAIL AGP

I also have a 60GB harddrive that I will put into the new computer + a DVD unit and I will probably add a DVD burner later on, and that makes a total of three harddrives and two disc units.

My first question is: do the PSU (Antec 350W) have enough power for this to work?

I would also like to know if the case I have chosen has quiet fans.

You may also point other things out that I have to put my attention to. Good things, bad things, whatever.

PS: Don't mind the signature, it was a joke. :p

that looks like a very nice system.

only thing i would possibly change is the video card, might get a geforce 6800gt instead. the gt and pro and are very similar in source engine:

http://www.techreport.com/etc/2004q3/source-engine/index.x?pg=5