Bit of a Newb Question

S

SpawnXIII

Hey all, I just joined here and this looks like the best place to post it.

Anyway, I wanted to buy Half-Life on eBay, cause it looks a lot better and sounds a lot better than the game I've been playing in my spare time. (Rakion)

Plus, I'm extremely good at FPS games and figured that CS/HL would come naturally to me, because I have played it before, but only once, and I still owned at it though. (Yes, online)
So I figure I can make a couple bucks in my spare time in tournaments or something later-on, after I get the hang of it.
(Honestly this stuff comes easily to me, and I've been a Pro-Gamer for a couple other FPS games, and have won tournaments)

So, I looked around last night and came across and auction and baught
Counter-Strike: Source and Half-Life 2, newly boxed, never played, for $40.

I looked around after some more and realized that there's a LOT of Counter-Strike/Half-Life games out there, it's ridiculous.
So it confused the hell out of me.

So could someone explain to me what exactly I baught?
I thought that Counter-Strike: Source was the first CS released, and that Half-Life 2 was the expansion for that.
Am I wrong on that one?

Basically, I want to play Half-Life 2, but so I need something before I can install that? If not, then what's the expansion for Half-Life 2?

In short, what's the game everyone else is playing online right now, and what games do I need before I play that?

Sorry for the extremely noob question, but it confused the living hell out of me.

Thanks for your help, it's very apprecieated.

**edit**
By the way, here's a link to the eBay auction I was telling you about, that I won.

In the beginning, there was Half-life, and all was well. Then came Counter-strike, a mod to Half-life, and CS nerds were born.