Building A Comp, Some Help Needed

BaNDiT

Reaction score
Hey , im building a computer within the next month, and i have most of the components picked out now. The only problem is that this is my first time building a comp, and im not sure if this is all i need, and if its all compatible. Also, is it necessary to have a network card? anyways, here are the specs. can you please tell me if it all works out ? thanks.

Mobo:
ASUS "SK8V" K8T800 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket 940 CPU -RETAIL

Processor:
AMD Athlon 64 FX-53, 1MB L2 Cache, Windows Compatible 64-bit Processor - Retail

Power Supply:
Thermaltake W0014 Silent Purepower 480W with Black housing - Xaser Edition ATX 2-Fan Power Supply

Hard Drive:
Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD740GD, OEM Drive Only

Ram:
Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, Low Latency 184 Pin 512MB ECC Registered DDR PC-3200 w/ Platinum-Silver Heat Spreader - Retail

Floppy:
SONY Beige 1.44MB 3.5Inch Floppy Disk Drive, Model MPF920, OEM

DVD Drive:
SONY Black 16X DVD-ROM Drive, Model DDU1612, OEM

CD-RW Drive:
Samsung 52X32X52 CD-RW Drive, Model SW-252FEN, OEM Bulk

Sound Card:
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 PCI Sound Card, Model "SB0244" -OEM

Speakers:
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX Certified Speaker System -RETAIL

Video Card:
Geforce 6800 Ultra Extreme or X800 XT (depending which one outpreforms the other)

Anyways, thats all i have now. If something looks uncompatible can you please inform me of it. Also, if there is a certain component that i am missing that is essential please tell me what and what you would recommend. Also, i pretty much want the best system available at this time, so tell me whats better. Thanks.

Wow. That is one expensive computer you are building. You could save yourself a fair amount of money by reducing your performance a little bit. You would just get a Athlon 64 3400+ and corresponding RAM and you would save yourself $400 or so and the performance sacrifice would be minimal.