CS:S Arms --> XSI

B

bazooka

I've tried imorting the hands_reference.smd from a decompiled Source model. The only problem is, the bones are not included. Instead there are nulls representing the roots, effs, and joints. The nulls have the correct hierarchy and are attached to the mesh but there is no IK, and the vertices aren't weighted.

Is there any other way to get a working bone system with proper weights other than doing it all myself? I can look at the nulls as references but honestly, Valves setup is a bit complicated to me -- plus I'd still have to weight it myself. Which I could do, but I've never done any animating before, so it'd probably take me an age.

I've also tried importing the SMD into Milkshape (where the bones are intact, but not attached to the mesh) then exporting in various formats, then importing back into XSI, but I lose the bones again.

Or does anyone have a set of rigged CS:S arms lying around that they could give me in XSI format?

Thanks for your patience with this newbie.

welcome to my world mate. lol. i been away for a while im in bankok at the moment so i aint had time to continue having a headache about this. but anyway i was gona try extracting the mdl with gcf scape and then decompiling it. i think the reason it does this is because the mdl decompiler is buggy. if u get no result and this is important then i suggest you learn the basics of 3ds max and do it all in that.

Damn, that sucks. You'd think that it'd work better in XSI than in others since it's what Valve is using (in part at least).

Not important enough to lay down the money for Max (and I'm not a fan of piracy.) Just a hobby atm. Do anyone know if GMax imports things correctly?

Maybe I'll see if I can rig/weight it in XSI still.

omg now ive seen it all ..crackhead advised another froumite to use 3dsmax my whol view on reality has been redefined :O