Difference?

Dalith

Reaction score
Let me remind you I'm not very good with Graphic Cards :p

I currently have a NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420 64mb and planning to buy Sapphire Radeon 9600 Atlantis PRO 128MB
AGP, ATI9600PRO, DVI-I, TV-Out, Retail in the end of this month.

Is there a huge difference between these cards?
I mean, not only in DX9 but generally.

And if I want to overclock the 9600pro later on, how will I do it? :p

Take care!

Maybe searching? :)
But in short, yes its alot of difference. You dont see it now that much, but you will when all the new games come out. It also have much better FSAA quality, at higher speeds.
Overclocking can easily be done by installing rage3d tweak (rage3d.com, if you have a Radeon, remember this page :)) and overclock in the control panel.

the geforce4 mx series of cards are very, very bad cards. You will notice a huge increase in performance, and you'll have the ablility to have some much more eyecandy on (AA, AF, etc.)

all us geforce mx owners must stand up, and in unison, snap our cards in half.

Hell yeah, GF4 MX was really an update to the GF2 chip unlike the GF4 Ti which was like an updated GF3. The GF4 MX doesn't even have some of the cooler DX8 effects so it's really going to make a huge difference to something like Half Life 2.
It should run a lot better especially if you've got a good CPU that wont bottleneck it. So yeah, much faster, much prettier :)

Originally posted by Xei
Hell yeah, GF4 MX was really an update to the GF2 chip unlike the GF4 Ti which was like an updated GF3. The GF4 MX doesn't even have some of the cooler DX8 effects so it's really going to make a huge difference to something like Half Life 2.
It should run a lot better especially if you've got a good CPU that wont bottleneck it. So yeah, much faster, much prettier :)

Will P4 1.8GHz do?