Geek or nerd?

SpiderPig

Reaction score
Are you a geek or a nerd?

Can anyone explain the difference? And please dont quote the dictionary, thats so parsay :angel:

I consider myself a geek as im interested in technology, science and stuff. Nerds seem to conjour up images of spotty teenagers with pens in their to pocket.

I prefer the term "Gamer" It sounds cooler - But I'm not too clever, I don't have a 'nerdish' appearance etc. I just like games :D

I don't care what you call me, none of those words have any negative meanings that I don't agree with about myself.

nerd = a programmer, someone who knows eveyrthing about computers

geek = fan of sci-fi and fantasy entertainment in all forms as well as video games and various other geeky things like miniatures for example

personally I'm a huuuuuge geek.

Well, i am just an average student with an interest in technology :p

Okay, call me geek.

^average a$$

wait now its just turning into rate person above you

Thread needs poll.

I consider myself a useful geek. I know enough about computers that I can help out with stuff, but I also enjoy sci-fi and the like.

I see what you did thar
... I didn't do anything. I was yelling at Samon for being mean to you for no reason. Know what? FINE if you are not going to appreciate it, get out of here average idiot!

I agree, can a mod add a poll with the options Geek, Nerd, What did you call me?

how bout neek- my mum cools nerdy/geeky girls neeks, cos she teaches at a girls school. i think i'm just a gamer who is interested in technology, but isnt obssessed with programming and what size glasses i should wear today.

i have gordon freeman's glasses! woot!

EDIT: add neek to poll!

I always thought a nerd had to do with intelligence and geek was more of a fanboy/girl or gamer.

nerd = a programmer, someone who knows eveyrthing about computers