Help me please!!!!

Korgoth

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am a complete noob when it comes to coding, but I really want to get started learning c++ and a graphics language (ogl, or dx)... I need to know where to start.
I talking about the very begining. Can you guys answer these questions and maybe provide a few links? I'll love you for it! :angel:

1:What programs do I need?

2:What tutorials should I follow?

3:What books should I buy?

4:What else should I learn?

5:Whats your favorite soda?

Thanks!

Hmm, okay. I would recommend starting with a lower level C language before moving into nasties like the potential the public realm HL2 source has to be!
Take a look at Quake 1 or Quake 2 - both are relatively cheap and cheerful, there's a lot of documentation already out there and it uses an augmented version of C that makes it much more simple to utilise when required. Quake 1 even has the full engine source out there already for free! - that can give you some good insiders as to how the engine can potentially work for a great deal of titles and 3d rendering projects.

1: Many games come with the LCC (a low level compiling agent) within the SDK (Normally contains a map editor, a public source code and some documentation of sorts). That can be used when you can't afford a compiling agent. I recommend MSVC++ 6.0 for all your compiling needs.

2: Tutorials? That's entirely up to you. It's a case of googling it! In the case of aforementioned Quake 1/2 - there's a huge amount out there already that'll take you through most of the basics and edit the vast majority of the public source code.

3: Blarg. Books don't need to be bought in truth. Most of the coding in books is rather limited, and naturally there's always a tutorial on the net somewhere to rival it.