HK UMP Renders

Reaction score
Hey guys. Just made a HK UMP .45 for a HL2 Mod I am working on. This is my first try at the UMP, and I think I did fairly well, especially at 2500 triangles :D

well, here it is, new renders will be up later:
showcaseump.jpg

ump1.jpg

ump2.jpg

Helpful crits and comments are welcome :D

If I missed anything accuracy-wise, I'll try to fix it up. Oh btw, the folding stock mechanism is basically a custom design.

The only thing I would say is the handle looks a bit blocky, but a hand will be over it anyways.

Question though, how did you do the recessed part where that charging handle slides in?

Well, I rounded off the handle a bit more on the edges, and made the stock foldable.

showcaseump5.jpg

showcaseump6.jpg

As for your question, Waffles, I made cuts on the side of the gun to shape the sliding part. After it was extruded inward, I made cuts along the green areas in the pic below. I made these cuts so when I pushed the polygons selected (see pic below) inward, so it would not interfere with the entire side of the gun. If I didn't make those cuts, it wouldn't look very good, the sides would be triangulated.

slidingdiagram.jpg

-The charging handle 'slot' isn't opened.
-Magazines are too thin.
-Now I take a closer look... it's a bit thin overall.
-The bullets in the mag aren't .45s for sure :D
-Please take off that ugly foregrip :(
-shell ejector's 'guide' is too thin.

Hey thanks for the info, and thank you for the compliment Ichi :D

ump1.jpg

I see what you meant by being "not open". I just realized it's only open when it slides back ;)

I also tried it with out the foregrip (I can see you aren't a big fan of them lol), and it does look pretty awesome without it. I also made the mags slightly wider. I also looked at a .45 bullet, and I see why you said it wasn't .45 :D

So, can we expect more cool renders? :D

(I can see you aren't a big fan of them lol)

Yeah, since they don't look all that cool and are overused by CS :p