How did you find out about half-life?

Acepilotf14

Sucked so much dick for this title
Reaction score
Hm? I first learnt of it from my friend, he played Counter-Strike. So, obviously, I wanted to get Counter-Strike too. So, I bought the holiday.. or whatever bronze or something edition that came with HL, HL2, CS:S, and some other smaller games. Woohoo. I played CS:S mostly. Later on, though, I started playing HL2 and had fun. Got stuck on Route Kanal (Wtf?) Got pissed off and stopped. A year or so later, I started again and got pissed at ravenholm, as many of you know as my first post here... you might be able to find it by googling mah name.

I wake up from my night of slumber, cursing under my breath about having to go to school. I clamber out of my bed, the floor cool from the night. I walk towards the bathroom, ready to start my day with a warm shower. I pass by my fathers computer, where he was playing some game. I hear him grunt a little bit, as he was attempting to kill somebody with a crossbow, or so it seemed. He walks up some stairs, strafes to the right, and pegs the enemy in the chest with the arrow, sending the enemy falling to the ground, lifeless. The second I watched that, I knew I had to own this game.

My father was playing Half-life, on the map "Bootcamp" and the enemy was in that "sniper" spot with the satchel charges and the HEV charger down the ladder. Yeah, that game was awesome. The funny thing is, he had a pirated copy, with a fake key, that he is using to this day to play Counter-Strike via Steam. I lol'd.

I read some very positive previews back in 1998. So I went to the shop on the day of release and bought me a copy. It had just arrived and they even had to search for it because the boxes that came in that day hadn't been unpacked yet. It didn't take long for me to discover that this was the best game I'd ever played.

I read a walkthrough in PC Gamer.