How has HL2.net changed your taste?

Cormeh

Tank
Reaction score
So, I've been revising my musical taste for the past two years, mainly due to a lot of YOU! THE VIEWERS!

HL2.net has been a great forum for a lot of reasons, but one of the primary reasons has to be the diversity in musical taste which has led me to dip my toe in various different genres. When I was a lad, fresh-faced with a skip in my step, I was never into music a great deal. When I was 16/17, Britain suddenly experienced a musical boom in "nu-Metal" which led to myself and a few friends cracking into bands such as Limp Bizkit and the like.

Although I won't confess that I hate all of that stuff now, I certainly don't listen to it a great deal (I also refuse to throw out CD's on the principle that they cost ?16 each back then).

I registered here December '04, when I was 20 years old. Mostly enjoying bands like Coldplay, the Verve and the Beatles (which I still enjoy, in fact one of them wrote my favourite album of all time, try and guess which). Indie music was however, growing stale. 90's bands were my cup of tea, but newer, more "indie rock" groups were appearing on the scene (Kaisers, Artics etc. Not that they're horrible, I just wasn't interested).

So, I needed something new to my ears, something refreshing. Around this time, Qonfy was posting like a mother****er possessed about NiN and how awesome they were/are. But not only him, many others seemed to be enjoying this stuff as well. Who am I to contest this? I found The Downward Sprial for a few quid in Edinburgh and plunged in. That was it, hooked. Since then, I've trusted in a lot of bands and groups that have been posted with good praise and had a shot of them too. Most recent are Boards of Canada and to my absolute shock, Radiohead.