Modding Timeframe

Reaction score
I'd like the advice of some experienced modders out there.

I'm currently at the starting point of a final year university project. My project involves producing a few short snippets of gameplay from a story set in the Half Life 2 universe. Each snippet will provide around a minute or two of gameplay, with there being around 3-5 in all.

These gameplay demos, if you like, involve producing a few gameplay areas, creating new NPCs with a few original animations for them (I know this is a hairy point, but I'm procuring the services of an animator), and voicing them. My Source modding knowledge is rudimentary at present; I know the basic ins and outs, can make a map that works with no leaks, has lighting effects, displacements, etc. So not a total newb, but still basic level of knowledge, nothing on the level of implementing new animations into characters and building complicated scenes yet.

I have 8 months from now to hand-in. Given that I have basic knowledge at present (but will be spending a lot of time on this, given that I'm a student and this is my project), am I setting myself a ridiculous goal, or is this acheiveable? The people around me, including the ones who are going to be supervising my project, were putting the fear of God in me today by basically saying "Jesus, that's a lot of work you've set yourself". I believe I can do it and am ready to prove them all wrong, but I'd appreciate the opinion of people who have experience about how difficult the challenges I've set myself are before I go rushing into something too big for me to handle. Thanks.

Yes, it's achievable. What are your plans?

Sounds doable. Hard to say without knowing what "gameplay snippets" entails. Are you planning on writing some complex scripted events, or trying out all new types of gameplay that isnt in hl2? Or is it simply going to be hl2 gameplay with new maps, models, textures, etc?