New to HL2 Mod

K

ktg

Hi , I am new to HL2 modding and would like to know where to start.
I have an Idea for a game and would like to create a HL2 mod of it.

I have a few questions to ask

1) does the sdk use a scriting langauge or does it use C++
2) if it uses c++, can a new exe be compiled with the supplied SDK
3) can I use a 3rd person view instead of the normal 1st person
4) what licencing issues/ restrictions if any are there with a HL2 mod
5) same question but for a non-commercial game

regards

Emmanuel

ktg said:
Hi , I am new to HL2 modding and would like to know where to start.
I have an Idea for a game and would like to create a HL2 mod of it.

I have a few questions to ask

1) does the sdk use a scriting langauge or does it use C++
2) if it uses c++, can a new exe be compiled with the supplied SDK
3) can I use a 3rd person view instead of the normal 1st person
4) what licencing issues/ restrictions if any are there with a HL2 mod
5) same question but for a non-commercial game

regards

Emmanuel

1) dunno
2) dunno
3) yep
4) if you want to make a commercial game you need to buy a licence, which is many thousands. Otherwise you can't use it to make a commercial game, can't use any IP without permission
5) same as above, can't use other people's IP, or make money directly from it or provide the code to others so they don't have to buy the game to run it. (same for #4)

1. C++
2. No, you can only make a MOD, not a stand alone game and it must run by Steam.
3. Yes
4. As I said, with the SDK you can only make MODs, not full games so the laws that apply are those like IP (you can't make a game based on another game without asking the permission first). If you want to make a stand alone game like Vampire Bloodlines, you must buy the full license of the engine, wich contains alot more than the SDK and costs many thousand dollars.