Playing HL and OP4 again

Stryyder

Reaction score
Just to kill some time until HL2 is released, I have been playing the original single player HL and OP4 via STEAM.

Love these games I really would suggest if you haven't played them in a while to do so. Bring back some great memories.

Also it may keep some of you from DL the 'beta' and playing it.

Me too, playing HL, OP4 and Blue Shift to go over the plot again and see if I missed anything.

i have a problem with playing SP...

i started playing it a few weeks ago (i don't play it every day and when i do its no more than about 40 mins) and everything was fine..

then i upgraded to Win XP (was running Win 98 before) and copied my saved files onto a cd, formatted HD and then installed HL and Steam..

anyway, now when i load any of those save files, i don't have the HUD.. meaning, i can't see how much health and armor i have and can't see how much ammo i have.. and also it does not show up when i pick up a new gun, ammo, armor and health..

i started a new game.. and encountered an error i never seen before.. when i go and put on the HEV suit for the very first time in the game, it gives this "start volume=335" error and exits back to my desktop.

any help plz? anyone else getting this?

I've been playing OpFor again recently, but plan to play Half Life again soon. I don't have Blue Shift though - is it worth getting?

I actually prefer some of the action in OpFor (to the orginal) but I still prefer the original. I can remember wondering at one point in HL "How is this going to finish?" as it was so exciting and drew you into an-almost-real world. To be honest though, I was a little bit disappointed with Xen. (I bought a shoot-em-up not a jumping game) but the opening part of HL (on the tram, day at work then the accident) and the closing unsettling ending with the G-Man making you an offer you can't refuse (am I on the side of good or not?) are excellent and leave you wanting more.