Spy and his Sapper weapon

Mutley

Tank
Reaction score
I think it's called the Sapper, basically that little bug they put on Engineers buildings.

On maps where you're fighting over the last CP, the defenders usually spawn right next to it, you get about 3-4 Engineers defending.

So I was an Engineer out of the 4 we had a Sentry and Dispenser each, a spy comes, disguised as an Engineer and bugs all our stuff instantly (so about 8+ things) all in a row, everyone panics and trys to get the bugs off their stuff so they don't get blown up - now, I decide to kill him as he is putting them on constantly as they are repairing - in this 30sec of killing him (first I had to find which Engineer was the spy and that was a bitch since we were all pretty much touching each others stuff) I lost my upgraded Sentry.

Now, it's REALLY annoying - simply because the Spy can instantly place these bugs, I feel it needs at least a 2-3 second reload time. Other than that I have no other issues with the Spy but this bugging constantly was a nightmare and either way the Engineer loses.

:(

Considering how overpowered the turrets are, and the amount of complaints about the engineer's effectiveness, this is only a good thing. And this is coming from someone who prefers to play an engi to a spy.

Yeah, I agree. I like how spies can REALLY mess your shit up if your an engy. I feel it adds a more combat oriented feel to being an Engy instead of sitting back and defending your stuff.

I'm new to TF in general, and I couldn't figure out if you can actually remove the Sapper from your builds and stuff. I generally just tried to kill the Spy really fast as they always hung out near the target, and I could have sworn killing them would cancel out the bug.

I just played as Spy and it was rather fun taking out 3 Dispensers and 2 Turrets which were bunched up. :p