Suggest me a new video card

chimpmunk

Tank
Reaction score
I play almost only half life 2, and I'm getting tired of my old geforce 5500 fx.
Graphics are nice for now, but i'd like it to be even better.
So i'm looking for a new video card, better than this one obviously, but somewhat cheap, being a photography student, i have very limited money when it comes to stuff that is not directly linked to photography/cameras.

By the way, my specs are(I was too lazy to check them all out so I used the steam "system information" option):
Processor Information:
Vendor: AuthenticAMD
Speed: 1808 Mhz
1 logical processor
1 physical processor
HyperThreading: Unsupported
RDTSC: Supported
CMOV: Supported
FCMOV: Supported
SSE: Supported
SSE2: Supported
3DNOW: Supported

Network Information:
Network Speed:
IP Address: 192.168.2.XXX

Windows Version:
XP Service Pack 2 (Build 2600) (32 bit)
NTFS: Supported

Video Card:
Driver: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500
DirectX Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.10.9147
DirectX Driver Version: 6.14.10.9147
Driver Date: 12 Aug 2006
Desktop Color Depth: 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Refresh Rate: 60 Hz
DirectX Card: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500
VendorID: 0x10de
DeviceID: 0x326
Number of Monitors: 1
Number of Video Cards: 1
No SLI or Crossfire Detected
Primary Display Resolution: 1024 x 768
Desktop Resolution: 1024 x 768
Primary Display Size: 12.60" x 9.45" (15.75" diag)
32.0cm x 24.0cm (40.0cm diag)
Primary Display Type: CRT
Primary Bus: AGP 8x
Primary AGP GART: 64 MB
Primary VRAM: 256 MB
Primary Monitor Vendor Not Detected
Primary Monitor Model: Analog Display
Supported MSAA Modes: 2x 4x

Game Display Settings
GoldSrc Game Resolution: 1280 x 960 (Fullscreen)
GoldSrc Game Bit Depth: 32
Half-Life 2 Resolution: 1024 x 768 (Fullscreen)
Half-Life 2 MSAA Disabled
HL2DM Resolution: 800 x 600 (Fullscreen)
HL2DM MSAA Disabled

Sound card:
Audio device: Realtek AC97 Audio

Memory:
RAM: 1023 Mb

Miscellaneous:
UI Language: English
Microphone: Not set
Media Type: DVD