Third Party Mods Through Steam

leadfish

Reaction score
Hey, I'm just tooling around with the hl1 source code, and just making tiny little changes, but how do I make a third party mod run through steam? The only changes I've made are to the single-player side of things, so I'm the only one who's gonna use it. I've looked around, but haven't been able to find anything of use to me. Thanks for any help you can give me :)

Sorry, nevermind me :( It was really late and I forgot the liblist.gam file. Oh and edit time limit ran out, so sorry for the double-post.

Thanks guys...I'm only new to C++ (just learnt the theory behind pointers/enum/structures/linked lists this morning), so I'm winging it based on the tiny bit of java I know :p

I do have a new query though; after adding a zoom function to the mp5 (CMP5::Zoom( void ) in mp5.cpp iirc), how do i bind the action to a key ingame? eg: bind MOUSE1 +attack for primary attack...bind MOUSEx +zoom <- how do I make it work?

For the zoom function, I basically ripped the code from the crossbow.cpp, and then prototyped the necessary function and variable in weapons.h.

Any help is greatly appreciated :thumbs:

PS: IRT hasan, thanks for those links mate. I'll read them as soon as I get a chance :)

I think you have to add a new console command for that .. unless you replace the secondary function with the zooming.

There is function called CLientCommand somehwhere (I think client.cpp?) it has a switch structure with whole bunch of case <command>:

I've never done this before but I'd guess you would add a new case with your own new command that zooms the MP5 (maybe check if the wepoan you are holding can zoom? I'd add a new member bool to the wepoan class "zoomability" and default it to false, make it true to the MP5)

Anyway, you can read around that site's coding tutorials.
I never really done any major coding on HL just simple silly stuff so I'm not in a position to give acurate information and/or reliable assistance.

EDIT: