Trying to see if my old comp can handle HL2...

W

Wolfxi

A bit old,but can it still play it?

AMD athlon 1500+ 1.3GHz Thunderbird core
Asus A7V400-MX Motherboard
1024Mbs of 184-pin DDR400
BFG GeForce 6600 GT OC 128MBs AGP x8

dont think it matters what hard drive and sound card i have really...
thx alot if someone can tell me :)

might try to overclock the CPU's FSB to 133MHz instead of just 100Mhz...

I just found out that my CPU runs at about 66-69 Degree's Celsuis(Im a complete n00b when it comes to CPU tempatures,so im not sure if thats good or bad)so should i still overclock?

I don't think you should overclock at 66-69 Degrees. But I am not an expert either.

wow...you have gotta try hardware sensors monitor its lowered down my cpu temp to almost 48'C!(wow!)i think i can overlock with this program running now :)

Your cpu will be bottlenecking hl2 BADLY. I think you won't get over 30 fps with that thing. Overclocking won't help that much. If you get a new mobo+cpu, 1600x1200 highhighhigh it is.

The Brick said:
Your cpu will be bottlenecking hl2 BADLY.

I agree with The Brick, plus I believe that there is some sort of incompatibility problem with the processor and some games (to do with SSE). There was a readme doc that came with AoE III that stated this

I get the impression he's not planning to upgrade it if it doesnt run it, as he states it is his old PC.

I don't think you will be able to run it. I can only just run it on my Athlon 1800 + ATI Radeon 7500 64MB. And thats at lowest res (640*480) with the draw distance only a bit further than David Blunketts :eek:

actually i atm on my old comp i have 256MBs of DDR400 RAM and am using the built in VGA...i was planning to upgrade it to 1024MBs and the 6600GT then sell it to my friend,since he doesint know very much about PC's,and just wanted one for amatuer gaming...might consider buying a new CPU instead of the 1024MB's and just buy another 256Mbs(512 in total once i get it)