VC++ 2003 or VS 2003

K

KaMaNcHi

Hi,

I'm just starting to learn C++ for amongst other things game modding. (It may take a while but I will get there ;))

I'm able to get the academic editions of either VC ++ 2003 or VS 2003 but is it worth spending the extra money on Visual Studio??

As far as HL2 is concerned is VC++ 2003 OK and supported.

With 2005 edition out early next year am I best to hold on and use Dev C in the mean time. As far as I can see 2005 will support .Net Framework 2 (No use for modding) but will it make any changes to ANSI/ISO support & features??

If I found a tutorial written in prue ANSI C++ would I be able to compile it in VC 2003?

Sorry for the dumb questions but I want to spend my money wisely.

Cheers :)

It depends on if you like the studio or not. There are free studios out there to download. And I mean legally.

2ltben said:
It depends on if you like the studio or not. There are free studios out there to download. And I mean legally.

Ermm did you read my post lol.

I haven't used Visual C ++ or any of the other products so I wouldn't know if I like it until I buy it??

What I'm asking really is will I be OK with just Visual C++ 2003 or does the full Studio package add any useful/important features to VC++. I don't really care about the other languages you get apart from purhaps VB with ASP.net.

When you say other studios I take it you mean IDE's like Dev-C++ which I have used but I want to get VC++ in one form or another.

Visual C++ has all you ned for C++. I've had visual C++ 6 for awhile and it's working fine for me and my limited C++ usage.

forget VC6, dont buy it, regardless of how cheap you can get it, its broken and wrong and i've done a few rants on the subject :)

VC++03 should be enuff for you, its basicaly VS.Net03 with all the extra unneed stuff stripped out and just for C++.