From a post Gabe Newell made at the Knife Network earlier this month

O

oct13

From a post Gabe Newell made at the Knife Network earlier this month:

As some of you know, I make videogames for a living. For an upcoming videogame we need to have some textures (pictures) of hot steel. Well, I thought to myself, what group could do a better job than the fine people here at getting me some pictures of hot glowing steel.

You can read more in this thread:

I Need A Favor

i have a feeling all this obsessiveness over Gabe is just a little unhealthy.

but interesting to know he's resourceful and stuff etc.

Haha...Thats great. I never really think of people like Gabe (i.e people who make games) as being part a part of online communities like that.

wow, he really is a knifephile, i didn't know there was such a thing.... I'd say congrats to whoever gets him the right picture, they will be respobsible for not only adding textures to one of the biggest games of all time, but they'll even get a free copy :)

yay gabe :p

its probably taken care of judging by the dates, its pretty late in the game to be finding textures by now :p

Wow, that's pretty cool. That's a cool way of getting textures!

EDIT: Now.. let's start to speculate to what end they wan't the hot scaley metal textures. He said that if they wan't to use it on something that's not flat, that the engine will deform it properly. So are we looking at a giant ball of scaley red hot metal?

Could just be me... but something about that smells fishy. Doesnt seem quite right.

Yeah, the title 'I Need A Favor' has been the first letter of each word capitalized.

I cannot believe that Gabe has nearly 350 posts on a knife forum. Literally I cannot and don't believe it. Something's up.

DarkStar said:
I cannot believe that Gabe has nearly 350 posts on a knife forum. Literally I cannot and don't believe it. Something's up.

Don't you know?

he collects knives.