Brush Problem

Sanada

Reaction score
This is my first time using Hammer and I now have a problem with the brushes. I made a smooth corner using the block tool. Before I save, it looks and seems fine. Then I reload the map and the brushes mess up. I fixed it but it just happens again.

Before Save:

When reloaded:

What's causing it to do this?

it looks like all you need to do is select the messed up piece, then with the tool, damn I forgot what its called, the one with the square and the points at the corners, you just reposistion the corners to line up. If it keeps happining, I would suggest just starting your map over.

That would be the Vertex Manipulation Tool.

If Hammer keeps messing up the brush when you reload the map, the problem is that the brush keeps getting nonconvex. Make the object entirely out of tetrahedrons and you'll have no problems.

I do that but it keeps happening. :( Really don't like feeling starting all over.

Sorry to sound sound like a n00b, but where is this tool? I only know of the block tool for making objects.

It's the Vertex Manipulation tool. It should be about 3/4 of the way down the toolbar list, and the icon is of a wireframe box with highlighted corners.

To use it, you select the object you want to manipulate, and then click the Vertex Manipulation tool. You'll be able to select and move as many of your brush's vertices as you want. It's useful when creating angular shapes like tetrahedrons, and brushes with many different parts.

Just make sure you don't make any part of your brush concave, which means don't make the corners at 180 degrees or greater. Objects with >179-degree angles, like a large L-shaped block, or a big X brush, will require the use of more than one brush.

Sanada said:
I do that but it keeps happening. :( Really don't like feeling starting all over.