Comparing Level Design in HL1 and HL2

nokori3byo

Reaction score
I mentioned in another thread that I'd started playing through Half-Life Source after completing HL2. It's my first time playing through the game, from beginning to end, and I have to say, I'm finding it to be pretty laborious. In particular, the way the levels are laid out frequently requires the player to backtrack in order to complete certain tasks. I was suprised to find that the area encompassed by a certain chapters often isn't all that big, but the use of choke points can create situations played is slowed down by repetition. I'll admit that aceratin amount of my annoyance stems from the occasional awkwardness of HL Source's controls, but still...

The funny thing is that HL2 has frequently been criticised for being too easy or too linear. Playing through the original game can make these points seem like virtues rather than weaknesses in the newer game's design. Did anyone else find this?

Actually, this post is just a roundabout way of posing a question about the highly-anticipated Black Mesa mod: should the developers strive to duplicate HL1's level design faithfully, or should they try to balance it with a more linear approach? From what I've read, they've set out to recreate the original rather than redesign it. Thoughts?

They are trying out new level design, while maintaining the feel of the original. Last I heard they were trying things with multiple paths through levels.

I like the idea of backtracking & using up one area well instead of just running right through it and not absorbing it at all :\
I thought it was done well in HL, mostly. There's definitely some areas where gameplay could be improved for the Black Mesa mod though.

I don't remember there being too much backtracking in the game, but parts like the intro where you play through the same area with different conditions really help flesh out the environment.