Digital Camera advice from some of you photogoonies

D

DreadLord

I've been meaning to invest in a nice camera for some time now. I don't really take a lot of pictures, but I find myself wishing I had a camera for special things from time to time, and I think it's about time I just buy one. My phone takes really nice pictures, however it's a bit of an annoyance to use as a primary camera. I have a Nokia 7610 btw.

What I want is a solid camera, doesn't have to be the absolute best quality, but I'd like it to be a rather nice one, and the smaller the better, I really like those tiny ones. Price isn't really a problem, keep it below a grand I guess.

Let me know what you guys think. I have no experience with photography, so I figured I'd ask some people who do.

The Canon SD line is for you. Uber small and as high as 8MP I believe. Takes great pictures.

The Canon powershot series have always been average joe's high quality cams
But check the following sites for all the info you will even need, in a clear and objective package:
http://www.steves-digicams.com/
http://www.dcresource.com/
http://www.digitalcamera-hq.com/
http://www.dpreview.com/

Edit:
from the first link, steve's digicam's, in the section "best camera's"

Ultra Compact - Pocketable
Canon Powershot SD600

Sony Cybershot T5

Casio Exilim EX-S600

Nikon Coolpix S5

Canon Powershot SD400

Sony Cybershot W50

If you don't need zoom and only want a small camera that you can take with you everywhere, I recommend the Panasonic DMC-FX7.
If you want a fancier and bigger camera, I'd take something from Canon.

NOOOOOOOOOESSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

Smaller = not as good. Harder to change ISO speed (if you can), can't change shutter speed, no manual focus (wtf I don't want to focus on the bird I want to focus on my girlfriend), and you can't keep them steady for shit. Why would you spend a grand on a girly camera?

Get an old Film SLR. Analogue beats Digital hands down in terms of quality.