Theory on how hackers got in/how to prevent

F

Flar30n

This post is directed at Valve. I am not a security expert myself, and all of this information may be blatantly obvious to many people, but just trying to help however I can. Any/all responses welcome.

Hello, I am a member of the gaming community who has seen your posts and hopefully can help some with ways to patch/fix/learn how they got into your machines.

After seeing some of your posts (http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/28641) regarding what tools were found on your machines used by hackers, they seem very common to me. One of my good friends is a security systems analyst consultant for large companies, and he frequently discusses seeing similar tool packs used by warez kiddie hackers. Typically they will use some public domain exploit to get in and use tools very similar, if not identical, to the ones that you have found on your machines.

If you want some examples of this, just go onto any major IRC network (for example, EFNET, irc.efnet.org) and do a /list to see all the big channels. Almost all of them are the major XDCC channels that use hacked IRC bots to distribute copyrighted software. It should be strongly noted that I am not suggesting these groups that run these IRC channels had anything to do with it at all, and it is highly unlikely that they did, but I am using them as a common example of who typically hacks in a manner similar to one that you described in your posts/updates.

Once these groups hack your machine, my friend has found that typically they will dump the password hashes of your machine to a file (using tools such as pwdump2 or pwdump3 - also publicly availble), and then use a tool such as LC4 (L0pht Crack 4, a tool used to brute force the windows hashes to determine the machine passwords).