VALVe losing gamers?

H

hl-er

I've been waiting for HL2 and Doom III for more than a year now, and I was really anticipating HL2 this month, just to hear about this crappy delay.
Look guys, I'm a coder, and I've downloaded the source after hearing about the delay, and all I can say is that first, it's the whole engine, not small portions like one of VALVe members said, if you don't believe it, read Gabe response hours after the source code theft news.
Second, the source isn't near complete at all, and I guess it was impossible to release it by the end of the month, it's full of notes of bugs, stuff needs to be fixed...
So my guess is, VALVe knew they wouldn't be able to release soon, so they just used the theft thinggy to delay it.
As for the CDKey code thing, it's not in the leaked source, I assure.
The only reason I see for the delay is to recode network stuff, otherwise it would be extremely easy to cheat.
Another thing, why the heck does Steam support DRM stuff? I don't want PC software to control my PC.
Now compare it to Doom III, Doom III will be released when it's done, and there is no DRM in it.
I was really eager to get a copy of HL2, but after seeing how VALVe is lying to their customers, and the way Steam works, eh, no thanks.

Please respond in a civilized way, I'm not flaming here, so should you.
Thanks.

First off, you're going solely on the assumption that the thief got into VALVe's main source computer. As far as you, or anyone else knows, it could be from a backup drive, it would explain alot of inaccuracies seen with it compared to the E3 presentation (lipsyncing, baracade/strider scene maps not there, missing models, some stuff not working right, poor optimization in some areas..)

I don't have a second off, so.. yeah

Edit: Spelling error

Originally posted by hl-er
Look guys, I'm a coder, and I've downloaded the source after hearing about the delay, and all I can say...