Water effect (Flooding/Rivers)

• Thread starter jackofthetrade32
  • Start date
J

jackofthetrade32

Water effect (Flooding/Rivers)
I think they need to add a better water effect.
If it is raining, it should flood if there aren't any gutters.
If some water is running on a sink, it should fill up correctly and should drain onto the floor.

Better yet. There should be storms that cause mud and...
However, storms and stuff should wait until HL3
It wouldn't take too many more millions of lines of code to do it.
I'm a programmer and I know I could do it if I had there code with their authorization.

Currently, realtime fluid dynamics/"physics" take up too much processing power and can't be achieved at playable flamerates with modern, mainstream hardware.

Yup, needs too much processing power to do it effectivily.

Fluid dynamics won't be possible for a long time. And, if you think about it, they aren't really necessary in most scenarios. They'd just be a nice addition, like Red Faction's breakable walls.

There'd suddenly be all these liquid related traps integrated into the gameplay.

Like a bucket of water sitting on a door slightly open, the combine walks in and GET SOAKED!!! COMPLETELY SOAKED!! AHahahahah1111

No fluid water dynamics yet! Check back in 5 years!

I'm not trying to question your ability as a programmer, but you should already understand that it's not possible with current hardware. This if of course assuming that you realize how to render fluid dynamics with the right algorithims. You should know that alg properties like continuity and Navier-Stokes are solutions bound by computational power. Actually, there are so many problems with creating dynamic fluid that a full blown solution is still being brought together. There's flow control, vortex motion, and forces within the fluid itself. The exact programmable equation is tough, although it of course isn't impossible.