[WIP] Desert Eagle + question

SideEffect

Reaction score
Hello, This is my very first attempt at a firearm model. I'm still very new at this, I think this is my 3rd actual attempt at a project. I mess around alot in 3D Studio Max though. Anyway this is meant for gaming. I realise it's still good to keep the polycount low but most games these days are using higher and higher polycounts. This model is 1,980 polygons. Now I modeled the whole thing right now so when it comes time to put it in the game I can cut that number down quite a bit but deleting the polygons on the other side of the gun since you wont see it anyway. I've also put some details that probably might not even be seen well in a first person view but I also wanted to make the whole gun heh. It's always easier getting rid of details than making them. I still haven't modeled the clip yet.

I still have to do texturing, I know my way around photoshop well so that should make things easy, I just don't know much about adjusting the UVWs to make it easier. Got a bit of research to do there.

Well heres the pics, I'd like to hear any suggestions. Prepare for massive amount of links:

Renders:
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefin.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefin1.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefin2.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefin3.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefin4.jpg

Wireframe:
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefinwire.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefinwire2.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefinwire3.jpg
www.baywebdevelopment.com/models/deaglefinwire4.jpg

Sorry bout the lighting in those renders, they're just 3DSMax 5 renders and theres no lights in the scene just the default light.

Now onto the question I have.