[WIP]DM_Bunker <--YAY first map!

Bleeder

Reaction score
dm_bunker_beta1c0016.jpg
dm_bunker_beta1c0021.jpg
dm_bunker_beta1c0012.jpg

dm_bunker_beta1c0020.jpg

So what do you guys think so far? I'm pretty pleased with this considering it's my first map (not counting one i started and subsequently scrapped). Still I am a noob, and i would appreciate it if someone could hold my hand and show me how to optimize my map, so it runs better. I still don't understand how to properly use hints and area portals. If anyone has the time and/or patience, please PM me. :)

Also, anyone interested in helping me beta test this can PM me as well. w00t first map!!!!!!

Clean, Tight mapping! Looks good!

Glad not to see another bad map with a load of prop_physics thrown in to make it look good.

Well done

Awsome map, you wouldnt want to do maps for a hl2 mod instead ?

Looks good, especially for your first release.

Some comments...

Ideally each side of the bunker should be unique. It's going to be confusing while playing trying to work out your position in relation to weapon x, the healthkits, and so on.

Maybe put a low barrier around the top of the bunker, so people aren't are in danger of falling of accidentally. It would only need to be 4-8 units high, and would also serve as a nice looking trim aswell. Players could still jump over it too.

The walkway leading to the bunker roof looks very chunky and a bit ugly tbh.

Thank you all for your comments, they provided me with a much needed ego boost. As for mapping for a mod, i really don't feel ready yet (although it pleased me greatly that you asked :) ). As I said this is only my first map, and there's alot of stuff i still need to learn, but I'll keep your offer in mind Garfield. Yeah, i agree about the bridge being clunky, but for the moment it's all I'm capable of. I'll think about the border.....it's a good idea, it would just be a pain as the building isn't square.