1 Year DOOM 3 Anniversary!!!

satch919

Reaction score
logo.jpg

Well, it's almost been one year since its highly anticipated release. Now I know a lot of people didn't exactly care for it. However, lets celebrate what it did do correctly and enjoy it. Perhaps you could state what you enjoyed about it.

Here are some early DOOM engine pics:

doom3_screen029.jpg

doom3_screen014.jpg

doom3_0523_screen017.jpg

Newer pics:

469881_20040805_screen003.jpg

925095_20050403_screen012.jpg

925095_20050403_screen045.jpg

925095_20050403_screen088.jpg

I was such a huge fan of the DOOM series that I couldn't believe it when I finally had my copy of DOOM 3 in my hands at Best Buy. I bought a 5.1 surround sound system and an X800 XT PE mainly for this game. It was such a memorable release.

From the moment I started playing it, it just had that classic DOOM feel. It was dark, demonic, intense, and fun. Id Software did an amazing job at immersing the player in a dark, depressive, dank, and horrifying space station. I'd crank up my sound system and shoot at anything that moved. My parents heard the game from downstairs and decided to watch me play for a bit. They were impressed considering that they came from Pac-Man, Pong, Mario, and Donkey Kong.

I could go on and on about how much I enjoyed this game but I'm in desperate need of some sleep. With that said, feel free to discuss what you enjoyed about the game and your experiences.

Before I forget, Fileplanet has released some custom made maps from some talented people within the mod community. I suggest you try them as all of them are of very high quality. Here's the link for those of you wishing to inject more life into DOOM 3.

http://www.fileplanet.com/promotions/doom3_single/

Enjoy guys!! :cheers: