Graduate Record Examination

Sulkdodds

Companion Cube
Reaction score
Crikey, blimey, bollocks and wank,
I seek the aid of a kindly yank.

So this autumn I'm going to be applying, among other things, to various American graduate programmes - to the School of Journalism at Columbia University, for example, and the Medill Graduate School at Northwestern in Chicago. But as it turns out they all require me to take some kind of standard test - the GRE. I thought I'd done away with such general-knowledge maths-n'-english rote learning when I graduated from a good university with a first class degree, but so it goes. I am, perhaps unjustifiably, intimidated.

Who's taken this test? Can anyone tell me how you found it and what it involves? How good does my math (ha) have to be? I haven't done any ****ing maths since I was 16; never thought I'd need to. How much does it figure into assessment? Is there a book I can buy which will simply tell me How To Win?

Cheers, you adorable septics. Also British people are allowed to answer if they know anything about it I GUESS.

I took it two years ago.

The best advice I have is to go to the official GRE website. They have one or two practice exams which you can download (it's a program, not like a pdf). I believe they also have a pdf of the math you are expected to know (if you've ever taken the standard deviation of anything, note that the formula they use is WRONG but you should use theirs on the exam). And they have a huge list of topics for the writing section. In fact, I think every topic they can choose from might be on that list, but obviously there are too many to make up and memorize your essay :p.

I believe they also have sample scored essays and describe how they grade them (for example, on the argument essay, you are not expected to know/use the technical terms for all the logical fallacies. Actually they probably discourage that.)