How does one decide on a new internet handle?

Raziaar

I Hate Custom Titles
Reaction score
I mean seriously, other than the people who are just capable of throwing together random words and numbers and be fine with it.

I've thought about changing my internet handle for some time now. I don't know how serious I am about it, but I've certainly pondered it.

It seems like such a daunting task to me. I've been using this one since 1999. A whole decade.

It's amazing how attached one becomes to it, and how attached even the people around you become to it.

I know some of you on here have completely changed your internet name, though not without fuss from the people around you, including us.

How did you manage it? Or are you just not all that attached to your previous ones to begin with?

For me, it seriously seems like it would be as emotionally difficult for me as it would be to change my actual name, given to me by my parents.

Why would you want to? Your name is original, good, and everyone is used to it.

You say you've been thinking about it but list nothing but reasons not to.

Why would you want to? Your name is original, good, and everyone is used to it.

You say you've been thinking about it but list nothing but reasons not to.

Well, it's something I struggle with. Part of me wants to change it to something fresh and new. Not particularly for HL2.net, but for the internet in general.

And not necessarily retroactively changing it for everything, but rather assigning myself a new name for future things that I do.

I used to use sup3rsnail a helluva lot but I found it sounded far too juvenile and just stupid so I wanted to change it.
I was watching Donnie Darko one day and saw "Lucid Assembly" as a song in the credits, thought it sounded cool but since most websites don't allow spaces in names I added the x's.
Eventually shortened it to just Lucid... which is of course a very widely used user name so the x's usually get thrown in for uniqueness.