Is Half Life 1 worth playing?

SirGrotius

Reaction score
I'm being somewhat facetious, but in all seriousness, I'm a newbie, just started playing HL2 last week--absolutely love it (though get an occasional bout of nausea from it) and am wondering if I should bother to play the first one, once I've completed the 2nd.

I don't consider myself a graphics snob, but I'm worried that it'll look prehistoric (judging by a screenshot I saw from the first game in a recent post comparing it to Doom3).

I'm also worried that the guns will all be boring.

Finally, I'm worried that the physics system will be rudimentary at best.

Thanks

HELL YEAH, HL1 rocks. I've played it a few times, fun every time.

Half-Life is a great classic that you shouldn't miss out on if you want to get in on the entire Half-Life experience.

well the source port of hl1 at least addresses the physics

here are some things about hl1
hl1 was the first game AFAIK to use models that bent and deformed around their skeletons

It was the first FPS to not immediately drop you into combat and instead give you a decent plot relevant intro. Just about every FPS after hl1 follows this example

It was the first FPS game AFAIK to feature smart AI that would retreat, flank, flush you out with nades, etc etc. And not just immediately run into you.

It is the game that introduced the world to the term "bunnyhopping"
and its most popular mod, CS, introduced people to the term "AWPwhore"

What hl1 did not invent, it helped to refine. Its basically the standard by which most singleplayer FPS games are judged.

The game does have its draw backs. For example some people do not like the Xen levels nor do they like jumping puzzles, which hl1 has lots of. Also if you are a gun purist, you may not like how the weapons behave. Also the game does feature a stereotypical giant endboss.

Overall though it was an excellent game and for the sake of better understanding hl2, i recommend you play it.