Took a trip to Valve, heres the story

Algor

Reaction score
This last Thursday (January 8th), I was given the opportunity to take a tour at Valve. I have been a level designer for about 6 years, and on an amateur level, working with mod teams and such. So it was really interesting for me to see all of this work and all of these people on a professional basis.
I showed up slightly early to my 2:00 appointment, just so I could tell where the hell I was going… and finally found the Valve office. I entered the office and met the secretary who had set up the appointment for me, and found out that Gabe was busy at the moment. So we talked for a while and I was told about the office and what not, and saw lots of Valve people walking around. Gabe came back, we were introduced, and the secretary helped me out with getting a picture with him, which was pretty cool.
I saw the Valve network room, which had tons of servers, including the steam content servers, and there must have been a couple thousand wires in there.
As far as meeting the team, I pretty much met everyone that was there. Included were lots of level designers, Marc Laidlaw, a sound artist (cant remember the name, he was programming, maybe it was Yahn?), programmers, concept artists, 3D artists, animators, etc. I met the Day of Defeat guys in their office, which was cool to talk to them, since I work on a WW2 mod (Red Orchestra), and they obviously work on one as well. So it was interesting to talk about our ideas of what should be in a WW2 game, and what our differences are and the like.
I saw a lot of Half-Life 2 in action- both in gameplay and in design, but unfortunately I did not get the chance to play it myself. Maybe if I would have asked, I don’t know.
Anyways I’ll just post the interview I had with Gabe for now because I’m sure this is boring… if you want to hear more, let me know.
I took my digital camera with me, but unfortunately only took 4 pictures...
- Me and Gabe
- one of Marc in his office