Uber low performance

NeptuneUK

Space Core
Reaction score
Think its my P4 3ghz, but it shouldn't be THIS bad. Basicly, I've had this major performance problem for months, I get uber low performance on all of my games
eg)
30fps in DOD: S with HDR and AA off. That framerate should be illegal with an X850XT.
I have 2gb DDR2 Ram, too.

So far:
Have reinstalled windows
Virus/spyware scanned, defragmented, new drivers, disabled AV, blah.
Disabled thermal throttling
Got an arctic cooler
Made sure nothing is overheating
Tried overclocking (everything)
Got a good PSU
Tried talking to steam support (don't want to help)
Posted on a couple of forums (Listed all of the above as suggestions) including HL2.net several months back

Nothing has helped my stupid FPS in games (all games) hence... HELP MEH

Thats odd my old pc was a 3.2g with x800 pro 256 and 2 gigs of generic ram and ran those games with over 60 + fps

I'm not good at finding out problems but somthings not right .

I heard if you have 2 gigs of ram make sure you have 2X 1 gig sticks and NOT 4X512 sticks it slowed down performance alot. If you have 4X512 sicks take 2 of them out, its quicker with 1 gig rather than 2 .

Asus(mod on the forums) told me that a while back

Um, this might be a dumb question but I noticed that you don't have "installed latest graphics drivers" on your list, is this something you have done?

I've got my own framerate issues ATM. In CS:S (and only CS:S) every 5-10 mins the framerate drops from 40-60 fps to 5-15 fps for about a minute before going back up to normal.

Also, I have 2 X 1GB DDR2 corsair value ram 533mhz
Oops missed that :eek:.
I suppose you also have the latest DirectX and motherboard drivers as well.
I really don't know what else to do - it's such a unusual problem.
I suppose the next step would be contacting ATI.

Well if this crappy performance is only happening in games then your first step should have been trying a different video card...