What is HL2DM missing?.. How can you even call it that? Many of our thoughts...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Im making this post because I think i need to. I started playing the original HLDM in 2000, and was instantly hooked. Like thousands of others, I constantly played and became attached to game.. playing in tournaments, joining top clans, going to lans across the US, and became one of the best hldm players to date. But there is always a reason for these things.

Why do I love hldm? Because it was so unbelievably unique in numerous ways, a ton more than any other FPS. The fast-pace of the game was one aspect that set it far above other games, and opened up a new window to skill. The feel was great, the maps were great... and what primarily set HLDM apart fom the rest; the weapons.

Am I extremely pissed @ HL2DM because I dont like change? No, I love change. But what VALVe has done is far from change. How can you call it HL2DM with huge modification's to the weapons? And even take out the 1 weapon that changed everything; the gauss cannon. You look at UT, CS, Farcry, D3... notice some similarity? I sure as hell do. All based upon the regular pick up a common machine gun or grendade launcher and shoot it. Nothing special; you can do little jumps, maybe run fast, maybe even zoom. Everything is 'ZzZZZzzZZZzzz'. When i rarely start up CSS i cant even play for 5 minutes. Walking so slow, camping, SLOWING DOWN WHEN YOU JUMP, sickens me. For anyone new to computers, or FPS type games, CS:S is for you.

You take a look at what made HLDM great, and then you take a look at what it is now, complete shit. How can you completely take out the gauss cannon? Or create a CS-style crossbow that fires 1 round per millennium? You just took the most skilled multiplayer EVER created, a multiplayer that was so fast and unique you look at it and say "WOW!", and made into utter crap. No different than a UT or D3 mod.